The Magic of the Secret

I make no bones about my skepticism about Rhonda Byrne’s “The Secret”. In fact, you can read my review of the book to get my full feelings on at the end of this post.

So when I saw that The Secret has a follow-up workbook, “The Magic”, I decided to check it out and follow the steps of “The Magic” as best as I could. On Goodreads.com the description of “The Magic” is: ONE WORD CHANGES EVERYTHING For more than twenty centuries, words within a sacred text have mystified, confused, and been misunderstood by almost all who read them. Only a very few people through history have realized that the words are a riddle, and that once you solve the riddle—once you uncover the mystery—a new world will appear before your eyes. In The Magic, Rhonda Byrne reveals this life-changing knowledge to the world. Then, on an incredible 28-day journey, she teaches you how to apply this knowledge in your everyday life.

So for the next 28 days I’m going to follow the steps to learn how to apply The Magic to my own life. And we’ll see what happens.

The SecretThe Secret by Rhonda Byrne

My rating: 1 of 5 stars

The reason I dislike this book so much is not because of the writing, it’s the idea behind The Secret that bothers me so much. Basically The Secret is that whatever you put out into the universe is what comes to you. So if you’re a positive happy go lucky person you’ll get all this wonderful stuff – be it more friends or cars or more money. If you’re a negative person and you put out negativity you’ll only get negative things back – like continuing to be in debt, never losing weight. The book says that every single person on this planet is in charge of what they get. It’s all about what you can get. Cars, more wealth, love, and weight loss. Better health is secondary.

What pisses me off is how flippant the contributors to the book are about this. They say that while no one deserves cancer or other illnesses (and they never actually come out and say that these people got sick because of their negativity) you could cure yourself from the illness just by being positive. 1) Based on what they have written these people DID in fact make themselves sick with these awful diseases. I don’t believe that, but that’s what hte authors are saying – if you’re a negative person you’re going to get all that negativity back. 2) I believe that positive thoughts, prayer, etc can make a person well, but I also believe that we each have a day and time that we will pass away and you can’t just blatantly say, “hey, be positive and you’ll be fine!”

The other thing I dont’ like about the principle is that it’s all about entitlement. One of the contributors actually says that the universe is a big catalog and you can go through it and pick out anything you want. So if you want a new car all you have to do is visualize that car, then convince yourself it’s already yours and you’ll get it.

Um…yeah. Okay. Why should you do that? Just because you can get something doesn’t mean you should. We are not all entitled to have everything we could ever want. It’s ridiculous to think so.

Also, I don’t like the idea that the universe is just this giant Santa Claus type of thing. Another contributor says that God is the universe and that since we’re all made inthe likeness of God we’re all gods too and so we should be able to do anythin He does and get anything we want.

WHOA! Big WHOA!!! I do not believe I am a god. I don’t believe I am godlike. I’m human. My ultimate goal is to be like Christ, but I never will be Christ.

This book is truly a commentary on our society at the moment. Everyone thinks they deserve respect (I hate listen to kids on MTV yelling at each other about how no one respects them, why should we?) and at least 15 minutes of fame. What happened to just wanting to be happy, have a bunch of friend that you love and they love you in return? To be healthy and whole? To be good to our neighbors and the people who aren’t as blessed as we are? What happened to these things?

The Secret and other books and movies and TV shows like it. It’s all about the individual now and this book just proves it.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

