My 2012 One Word

If I could use only One Word to describe what I want from 2012, and thus far have been doing, it would be learn(ing). I feel like I’ve spent the last 8 months learning about myself, what I want, what I don’t want, what happens when I make a big change from what I don’t want to what I do want and how to handle that change.

I started art school September 2011. My first class was Drawing I. Then I noticed I had to take at least one more drawing class and two more design (lots of painting and drawing) classes before I could begin taking my major classes. I immediately said, “I can’t do this. I don’t draw. I suck at drawing. I can’t draw.” Sure enough, every time I said “I can’t” I couldn’t. But when I let go and enjoyed the process I could.

A couple of weeks ago my Drawing II professor, who has been with me through Drawing I and Design I (bless his heart! seriously!), had an advising session with me over the phone. The thing that resonated with me the most was something I seem to have to learn (there’s that word!) over and over again: I have to start thinking I can instead of I can’t. We talked for about 45 minutes about how this change in thought would make a huge change in my confidence and my output in my coursework.

There have been other ways in which I’ve been learning this year. I still need to learn time management. Mike and I, even after 15 years of marriage, are still learning how to be a couple and not “an old married couple”. I’m learning how to let my guard down and not let labels define me. I’m learning how to translate my talents into my work.

Learn. Learning. It’s a a pretty big word that encompasses a lot. It’s my word for 2012.

Leave a Reply

