Image

Sunflower

Sunflower

From my walks through the garden last weekend.

On another note, I’m going to see my husband’s family tomorrow. There is a grandchild that needs lots and lots of pictures taken of her. She’s a little princess, smart, silly, and cute as a button. I’m also hoping to see my husband’s cousin’s wife (my sistah from anothah mothah) and her baby princess too and get some more pictures. I seem to do much better taking portraits of children than I do of adults. I think it’s because kids are so free and love the attention. But I also let them run around and be themselves. There’s no posing when I do portraits of children unless the child is perched on the lap of someone. Not that I’m against formal portrait work, I have a very good friend who is an amazing portrait-ess (what is the right word for that?). But that’s her style and mine is more photo-journalistic…free-range photographer, that’s me. Get your organic free-range chicken and your free-range photography right here!

I missed out on a really great opportunity tonight. A fellow photographer in town invited me to join her at a Hindu wedding. Oh man! But I had to cancel this morning because of my sacral ileitis – basically it’s severe chronic back pain. This morning I could barely move and actually took the heating pad to work with me. The wedding was tonight, and while my back loosened up during the day by 5 p.m. it was back to tightening up and being stiff. Now I’m feeling wretched. It’s not like I can say, “Excuse me from taking photos so I can go do some yoga stretches in the lobby.” It’s frustrating and just one more reason I need to lose weight.

Well, this post is all over the place isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

