First Quarter Complete

Almost two years ago I tried to do grad school. Psychology. I thought it would be really great but I ended up hating it. It took so much time away from everything else I really enjoyed. I was so stressed out that I made myself really, really sick for like six months. I lost a ton of weight (which has all come back, boo) and I was miserable.

I knew I had to try school again, but I knew it had to be something more me. Creative, get your hands dirty, doing instead of just reading and reading and reading horrible case studies about psychosis. Gah, I hated reading those case studies and all the statistics, it was so dull! Sure it would have been sort of cool to have a “Masters in Psychology” but that’s just a title if you hate it, right?

Art school, on the other hand, has been challenging. Twice this quarter I have had temper tantrums. But with the support of my husband, my two best friends, and my parents, I got through it. And I liked it. I should post a picture of my keyboard. It’s one of those nifty, aesthetically pleasing Mac keyboards, all white and silver. Well, it used to be all white and silver. The most used keys are now stained gray from when I used my fingers to smudge the charcoal on my projects and then typed. eep I’ll take an eraser to it and see if that works.

The difference between school last time and this time is that I feel like I’m actually accomplishing something. That what I’m doing is going to get me where I want to be. Right now I’m waffling between graphic designer and commercial photographer. Oh man, I would LOVE to be a fashion and accessory photographer, except I’d hate shooting all those super skinny girls. I’d want to force cookies on them… Anyway, I digress. This time school feels right. Temper tantrums and all, it feels right.

 

Leave a Reply

